Concert: “Nomads-Oasis” with Agustín Castilla-Ávila & Friends

The Anderson Center at Tower View presents Nomads-Oasis, an evening of compositions by Wladimir Rosinskij, Richard Cameron-Wolfe, Scott L. Miller, and artist-in-residence Agustín Castilla-Ávila, on Friday, July 29 at 7 p.m. in the Tower View Barn. Doors open at 6 p.m. Tickets are $15 general admission and $10 for Anderson Center members & youth under 18.

Nomads-Oasis features several world & US premieres. This program is also being presented at Zeitgeist’s Studio Z in Saint Paul on Saturday, July 30 and at the National Opera Center in New York on August 6. Featured performers include cellist Ruslana Prokopenko, pianist Gayle Blankenburg, flutist James DeVoll, clarinetist Pat O’Keefe, guitarist Agustín Castilla-Ávila and soprano Tracey Engleman. Composers Wladimir Rosinskij, Richard Cameron-Wolfe and Scott L. Miller will also be in attendance.

In reference to the program’s title, composer Richard Camron-Wolfe explains, “Agustín, Wladimir, Gayle, Ruslana, and myself are ‘nomads’ that travel the planet in search of ‘oases’ – fertile environments in which to collaborate with local musicians and share our music.” Adding that, “We each met other in various locations across the world and next year, following this tour, we’re traveling to Belgium and the Baltic States – for new partners, new audiences, and new musical offerings.”

Nomads-Oasis serves as a residency capstone event for composer, musician, and interdisciplinary artist Agustín Castilla-Ávila, a July artist-in-residence at the Anderson Center through a Salzburg-Minnesota Artist Exchange program with City of Salzburg, Austria. Visual artworks from Agustín’s Still Life with Silence project will also be on view in the Barn during the concert. Minnesota visual artist Emily Donovan is in turn living and working at the City of Salzburg’s Künstlerhaus the month of July.

Agustín Castilla-Ávila is a pioneer in microtoal music, particularly with guitar scordaturas. Originally from Spain, Agustín’s research is based in Salzburg, with the Ekmelic Society at the Mozarteum. As a composer, he has worked in Europe, Asia and America. His music has been conducted by D. Russell-Davies, J. Kalitzke, and H. Schellenberger, among others. He has written for soloists, chamber ensembles and orchestras, plays, choreographies and five chamber operas. His music has been played at international centers including Brucknerhaus in Linz, Glinka Hall in Saint Petersburg, Harpa Hall in Reykjavik and Musiekgebouw in Amsterdam.


Agustín Castilla-Ávila
True Love is Not a Flower (Ibn Hazam, poetry) – 2021
Tracey Engleman, soprano,
Agustín Castilla-Ávila, guitar
Gayle Blankenburg, piano

Suite of Movements – 2017 – PREMIERE
Ruslana Prokopenko, cello

Untitiled Solo Guitar Piece – 2022
Agustín Castilla-Ávila, guitar


Richard Cameron-Wolfe
Time Refracted – 1990
Ruslana Prokopenko, cello
Gayle Blankenburg, piano

As Above, So Below, and Autopoiesis
from An Inventory of Damaged Goods – 2015
Gayle Blankenburg, piano

Memory of the Loss of Wings from Labyrinths – 1979
(W.S. Merwin, poetry)
Tracey Engleman, soprano
Gayle Blankenburg, piano


Wladimir Rosinskij
Music No.7 – 1999 – US Premiere
Ruslana Prokopenko, cello

Evanescencia 2  – 2020 – PREMIERE
James DeVoll, flute
Pat O’Keefe, clarinet

Keinem, Junge, lass dir reden…” – US Premiere
(Robert Schneider, poetry) – 2015
Tracey Engleman, soprano
Pat O’Keefe, clarinet
Gayle Blankenburg, piano


Scott L. Miller
Katabasis – 2018-19
James DeVoll, flute  /  Pat O’Keefe, bass clarinet
Agustín Castilla-Ávila, guitar  /  Ruslana Prokopenko, cello


Composer-pianist Richard Cameron-Wolfe was born in Cleveland, Ohio, and received his music training at Oberlin College and Indiana University. After brief teaching engagements, Richard moved to New York City, where he performed and composed for several major ballet and modern dance companies, including the Joffrey Ballet and the Jose Limon Company. In 1978 he began a 24-year professorship at Purchase College, State University of New York. After resigning in 2002, he relocated to the mountains of northern New Mexico in order to dedicate his life to composing. Devoted to the promotion of modern classical music (which he prefers to call “sound art”), Richard has served as an administrator for several musical organizations. Over the past ten years, his creative output has increased immensely, producing a broad array of new works in various media performed throughout the US, Europe, and Russia.

Scott L. Miller is an American composer of ‘high adventure avant garde music of the best sort’ (Classical-Modern Music Review). Best known for his electroacoustic chamber music and ecosystemic performance pieces, his music is characterized by collaborative approaches to composition and the use of electronics, exploring performer/computer improvisationand re-imagining ancient compositional processes through the lens of 21st century technology. Three time McKnight Composer Fellow, Fulbright scholar, and Hellervik Prize winner, his work is frequently performed by soloists, ensembles, and at festivals throughout North America and Europe. Scott is a Professor of Music at St. Cloud State University, Minnesota. He is Past-President (2014—18) of the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the U.S. (SEAMUS) and presently Director of SEAMUS Records.

Wladimir Rosinskij (of Austrian nationality and Russian origin) obtained his Honorable Diploma at the Academy of music, Krasnoyarsk in 1986. From 1990 to 1995 he studied at Hochschule für Musik in Vienna, and since then, he has been living in Spain. As a conductor he has led orchestras throughout Europe and Russia. Wladimir’s music has been premiered at prestigous venues such as Musikverein and Konzerthaus (Vienna), and Auditorio Nacional (Madrid), among others. His music has been conducted by Gianandrea Noceda Dima Slobodeniouk, and Kynan Johns; played by soloists including, Frank Stadler, Sabine Winter, Uxia Botana and performed by orchestras such as Wiener Kammerorchester, Orquesta Nacional de España, and Symphonie Orchester Vorarlberg. In 2013 he founded Camerata de la Or-questa sinfónica de Galicia.




This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a Operating Support grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts & cultural heritage fund.


ASL interpretation is available upon request. To request interpretation, please contact Stephanie at or 651-388-2009 at least two weeks prior to the event.


Jul 29 2022


7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Tower View Barn


Tower View Barn
163 Tower View Drive, Red Wing, MN